Photo Gallery: County Police Awards Recognize Officers, Civilians

Recipients went the extra mile to do their job and earn the "title of hero," according to Anne Arundel County police chief.

A banquet held Wednesday night honored police officers and civilians who have saved lives, prevented crimes, solved cases and used technology to help keep Anne Arundel County safe. The 19th annual awards banquet was held at in Glen Burnie.

Chief of Police Col. James Teare Sr. said those who received awards went the extra mile to do their job or to help someone else.

"They recognized danger, but did not run from it," he said. "They have earned the title of hero. I would like to thank the families for sharing their loved ones with us every day."

Majors Ed Bergin and Thomas Wilson assisted Teare with the distribution of certificates. The Anne Arundel County Police Foundation also provided colored ribbons for uniforms to signify the awards.

Those who received the Police Officer of the Year awards were: Pfc. Eric Cole of the Western District, Cpl. Daniel DeLorenzo of the Eastern District, Cpl. Mark Balonis of the Northern District, Pfc. Travis Ott of the Southern District, Cpl. Jon Carrier of the Special Enforcement Division, Detective Timothy Holevas of the Criminal Investigation Division and Officer Jeffrey Rothenbecker of the Special Operations Division.

Six citizen's awards for Outstanding Service to the Community were presented for heroic efforts in the county.

  • Sgt. Sherman Buchanan of the Baltimore County Police Department assisted with the apprehension of a robbery suspect. 
  • Gilbert Engle thwarted an attempted sexual assault and provided a suspect description to the officers.
  • Steven Wright removed a trapped driver from a vehicle involved in a serious crash.
  • Alisha Gorham reported a homicide and tried to revive the victim.
  • Thomas Kilby gave officers information that led to the capture of a serial burglar.
  • Craig Mathew detained an armed suspect and prevented a possible carjacking.

Those who received the Department Letter of Commendation included Cpl. Clinton Scott and Detective Jason DiPietro.

The Department Unit Citation Award went to members of the Criminal Investigation Division's Homicide Unit, the Special Enforcement Section's Major Offenders Unit and the Special Enforcement Section's Tactical Narcotics Team.

Those who received the Department Commendation Award were: Pfc. Michael Valentin, Cpl. Michael Harper, Sgt. Thomas Newman, Sgt. Rhonda Osborne, Cpl. Sammy Brown, Officer William Dashiells and Cpl. Luke Ringler.

The Silver Star Award was given to Pfc. Joshua Binner, who is credited with risking injury or death to subdue a dangerous, career criminal during a violent struggle, according to the police department.

The Chief's Award for Job Excellence went to Capt. Eric Hodge of the Emergency Operations Center, Lt. Herbert Hasenpusch of the Western District, Detective Joseph Goldberg of the Northern District and Cpl. Douglas Brangan of the Traffic Safety Section.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something