45 County Teachers Receive National Board Certification

The certification is the highest teaching credential given to educators in the country.

Forty-five educators at Anne Arundel County Public Schools (AACPS) recently attained the prestigious National Board Certification—the highest teaching credential given to educators in the country.

More than 6,200 teachers nationwide earned the honor, and Anne Arundel County’s 45-member class put it seventh in the nation among school systems with certification recipients, according to an AACPS release.

Approximately five percent of all AACPS educators earn the certification, and with the 45 new additions, the county’s grand total reached 355 for 2012, according to the release. Additionally, four members of the 2012 class of recipients earned the certification for their second time—renewing the original honor after 10 years.

“I continue to be incredibly impressed by these teachers who go above and beyond to better themselves and their instructional practices,” said AACPS Superintendent Kevin Maxwell. “Their dedication and passion to be the best helps every child in their classroom and beyond, because it also benefits other teachers in our schools.”

The national average for National Board Certified teachers in county school systems is about three percent, putting Anne Arundel’s five percent total above many districts throughout the nation, and second overall in the state of Maryland.

Below is a list of the Anne Arundel County educators who earned the honor and where they teach:

  • Donald Bailey, Crofton Elementary School
  • Michelle Carbone, Tyler Heights Elementary School
  • Sarah Meijiao Chen, South River High School
  • Meredith Wallace Claborn, Broadneck Elementary School
  • Deborah Avery Cooke, Seven Oaks Elementary School
  • Stacey Coppock, Ridgeway Elementary School
  • Theresa Currier, Severna Park Middle School
  • Terri Daubert, Chesapeake High School
  • Dessolene Davis, Chesapeake Bay Middle School (renewal)
  • Jill DelViscio, Broadneck High School
  • Lisa Engstrom, Severna Park Middle School (renewal)
  • Angela Foley, Millersville Elementary School
  • Sarah Fran Freeberg, Southern High School
  • Theresa Halstad, Millersville Elementary School
  • Lori Hanczaryk, Oakwood Elementary School
  • Shavaun Hawkins, Windsor Farm Elementary School
  • Catherine Hayo, Arnold Elementary School
  • Carole Huenergardt, Lindale Middle School
  • Karen Jones, Old Mill Middle School North
  • Melissa Kelly, Lake Shore Elementary School
  • Susan Kiser, Arundel Middle School
  • Tammy Lien-Dronberger, Broadneck High School
  • Nikki Lincoln, Benfield Elementary School
  • Jamie Maury, Millersville Elementary School
  • Holly Ann McDermott, Severn River Middle School
  • Jodi McDonough-Lare, Mills-Parole Elementary School
  • Dorene Milewski, Annapolis High School
  • Emily Miller, Annapolis Middle School
  • Emily Minnigerode, Millersville Elementary School
  • Azur Oducayen, Severna Park Middle School
  • Heather Pfaff, Arnold Elementary School
  • Rachel Ross, Woodside Elementary School
  • Amey Sanders, Pasadena Elementary School
  • Molly Sause, Severn River Middle School (renewal)
  • Rosemarie Santare Schwer, Southern Middle School
  • Susan Sheehy, Millersville Elementary School
  • Julie Steimel, Old Mill Middle School North & South (renewal)
  • Jennifer Swiech, Meade Middle School
  • Carolyn Ann Taibi, Jessup Elementary School
  • Maureen Thomas, Broadneck High School
  • April Umile, Meade High School
  • Elizabeth Miller Werner, Cape St. Claire Elementary School
  • Bridget Williams, Corkran Middle School


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »